Flâneuring

As I continue to work from my collection I am continually noticing and taking the time to find objects that convey my concept. This has tied in well with the acts of flanerie we explored within the first blog task. On reflection the time when I walk the slowest in my everyday life is on my way out or back home through the rural lanes, without the rush of traffic or crowds of people urging a sense of haste. In these short journeys I uncover different fragments dispersed and embedded into the ground within various locations.

With the extensive amount of rain recently, the loosening of the floor surfaces allows for these natural materials to be revealed. There is a constant cycle of debris being depressed into the ground and in turn a process of other matter being overturned and resurfacing. Although the actual objects and materials I discover are very distant to the more urban make up of the Chinatown/ Soho setting, there are also similar surface characteristics. In many of these rocks there is this tension between coarse outer layers and a much smoother patterned internal designs, that mimic qualities within my rough guide imagery but in a more organic colour palette.

Although I enjoy finding these small treasures I still feel conscious about stopping abruptly, or walking a few steps back to pick up things that caught my eye. In doing so I question why is it so uncomfortable and why such an action is judged. Although the roads I walk are mostly quiet and empty a paranoia comes over me when I go to collect an object, in particular the rocks that are more buried than I originally anticipated. The longer it takes to loosen the fragment from the clutches of the muddy ground, the more awkward the act becomes. In instances where I have hesitated or been unable to collect something that could have been promising I felt a sense of regret and even loss for an item I had never even held. If we continue to be rushed and concerned with the opinions of others we allow these fragments of beauty to be lost forever. If not me, who else takes the time or cares enough to rediscover them.

These fragments become small traces of the whole and although they can never properly exist in this context again I wonder whether they can be isolated from this loss and achieve their own individual meaning. With these ideas arising I am starting to see that many of  these objects become purposeless in this state and whether this is because, the view now is, it is better to have never known this object existed than to realise it in its defeated, ‘lesser’ form.

Leave a Reply

